Discover Marlboro: Marlborough Garage

Discover Marlboro: Marlborough Garage

  • <p>Marlborough Garage [postcard]. (1910s). Marlboro Free Library: Local History Collection. </p>
  • <p>Marlborough Garage [photograph]. (n.d.). Marlboro Free Library: Local History Collection. </p>
  • <p>Marlborough Garage [photograph]. (n.d.). Marlboro Free Library: Local History Collection. </p>

The north wing (section with tiered roof) of the Marlborough Garage was constructed in 1914 and operated as a car agency (known as Diamond D) at the dawn of the automotive age in Marlboro. In 1916, John A. Dubois operated the only bus line that ran between Marlborough and Newburgh out of this location, and continued to offer expanded bus transportation for many years to locations including Kingston and New York City. In 1917, the garage expanded when an addition was constructed. Dubois also offered machine work, welding, and brazing. If you were looking to buy a Model T or a Chevy during the 1920s, this would be the place to go!

Over the years the upper floors of the building were used for a variety of purposes, including offices for The Marlborough Record and the La Valle Shoe Factory in 1932, Marlborough Frocks, Inc. a women’s dress company in 1946, which in 1947 was replaced by a branch factory of Chaincraft, a manufacturer of brassieres. In 1952, mention of the Marlborough Dress Factory Shop appears in newspaper articles.

  • Listen to the audio

Read more

The Diamond D Bus Company, owned by the DuBois family, operated out of the lower garage for many years and transported the children of the Marlboro Central School District until the 1980s, when it was sold to George M. Carroll.

Today, this building continues to serve Marlboro and is home to many different businesses.


Amodeo. E., Pagnotta, J. & Cosgrove, J. (2012). Images of America: Marlborough (p. 53). Charleston, SC: Arcadia Publishing.

“Garment Workers Picket Unstuck Shop.” (1952). The Marlborough Record.

“Hackinsack Man to Open Branch Factory in Village.” (1947). The Marlborough Record.

“John A. DuBois Dies After Very Brief Illness.” (1936). The Marlborough Record.

Mahan, M. (2002). The First Hundred Years (p. 96). Lincoln, NE: iUniverse.

“Marlborough.” (1932). The Kingston Daily Freeman.

“Marlborough.” (1917). Newburgh Daily News.

““Marlborough Frocks” will be the Name of Local Dress Concern.”(1946). The Marlborough Record.

“New Overhead Doors Installed at Marlboro Garage.” (1939). The Marlborough Record.

“What was Going on in 1921? Old Files Tell Tale of 20 Years Ago.” (1941). The Marlborough Record.